DepEd convenes officials for a more organized 2012 Palaro

An April 12, 2012 press release from the Department of Education

The Department of Education (DepEd) announces the organizational structure of the 2012 Palarong Pambansa to ensure the smooth conduct of the annual national sporting event from May 6 to 12 in Pangasinan, where more than 10,000 athletes and officials are expected to participate.

Education Secretary Bro. Armin A. Luistro, FSC, will act as the Chairman of the Palarong Pambansa Board. The National Executive Committee and the Technical Management and Administration (TMA), composed of DepEd officials and regional directors, are chaired by Undersecretary Rizalino Rivera and Assistant Secretary Tonisito Umali, respectively.

Aside from maintaining the organized and systematic flow of events at the Palaro, the committees are expected to observe “no alcohol, no smoking, and no gambling” policies during the event. “Since we are aiming for a clean and green Palaro, sports officials should set a trend through leading by example,” Luistro emphasized.

This is in line with the pursuit of a clean and green Palaro as pronounced by Luistro during the signing of the agreement between the department and the provincial government of Pangasinan, this year’s host.

The 2012 Palarong Pambansa will be held at the Narciso Ramos Sports and Civic Center, Lingayen, Pangasinan. Elementary and high school student athletes from both public and private schools all over the country will be competing in different sporting events.

Registration of all TMA members will be on May 2, and the required refresher course for all officiating officials will be on May 3 and 4.

The organizational structure of the 2012 Palarong Pambansa is contained in DepEd Memorandum No. 61, s. 2012.