OWWA sets up 17 one-stop shops for OFWs and families in 11 regions

A September 5, 2012, press release from the Department of Labor and Employment

Secretary of Labor and Employment Rosalinda Dimapilis-Baldoz yesterday urged returning overseas Filipino workers (OFWs) and their families to visit any of the 17 one-stop processing centers (OSPCs) that have been set up by the Overseas Workers Welfare Administration (OWWA) in 11 of the country’s 16 regions.

“I also urge our OFWs and their families to avail of the government’s programs and services available in these OSPCs,” she said, “Two other OSPCs will be set up before the end of the year, one in Legazpi City (Region 5) and another in Tacloban City (Region 8).”

The OSPCs provide OFWs and their families the following services OWWA membership processing, issuance of Overseas Employment Certificates (POEA); information services, particularly on last minute queries of departing OFWs, and other OFW welfare concerns.

Baldoz, citing the report of OWWA chief Carmelita S. Dimzon, said the OSPCs are manned by full-time personnel to attend to specific needs of OWWA clients.

“Most of these OSPCs are already housed in one location together with the regional or field office of the Philippine Overseas Employment Administration (POEA),” said Baldoz, who had earlier given Dimzon and POEA chief Hans Leo J. Cacdac until the end of the year to bring together under one roof the offices, programs, and services of the OWWA and the POEA in the regions and provinces to effect better coordination and bring convenience and comfort to all POEA and OWWA

“The logic behind a one-stop shop is to fast-track action on an official transaction and provide convenience to the client,” said Baldoz.

“Returning OFWs wishes for more time to be spent with their loved ones, so we in the government should empathize and serve our OFWs fast to enable them to maximize their vacation in the Philippines,” she said.

The OSPCs where the OWWA and the POEA are housed in one location/building and the staff manning these OSPCs are as follows: Region 1—Zambrano Bldg., San Fernando, La Union, with Marie Ganal as focal person. Region 2—Regional Government Center, Carig Sur,Tuguegarao City; Region 3—Clark Special Economic Zone, with Alma Dizon, Ely Llanes, and Maricel Ayson as focal staff;

Region 4-A—Chipeco Ave., Brgy Halang, Calamba City; Region 6—2nd Floor, Old City Hall Bldg., Luzurriaga St., Bacolod City, with Jennelyn Oyco as staff; Region 7—LDM Bldg., Legaspi cor., M. Cuenco Ave., Cebu City, with Ma. Ofelia Maloloy-on as staff; Region 10—2/F Trinidad Bldg., Corales Yakapin St., Cagayan de Oro City, with Aniceta Corpin as staff; Autonomous Region of Muslim Mindanao—POEA-ARMM ORG Compound, Gov. Gutierrez, Cotabato City, with Gem Torres as staff; and Caraga—Nimfa Tiu Building, J. P. Rosales Avenue, Butuan City.

On the other hand, the OSPCs, which are separated from the POEA field or regional office are in the following regions: Region 1—DOLE field offices at the Laoag Provincial Capitol in Laoag City; Brgy. Carmay, Rosales, Pangasinan, manned by Dolly Anne Camacho; Rizal Street in Vigan City, Ilocos Sur, with Vera Andre Orcino as focal staff; and Alaminos City and Dagupan City, Pangasinan; Region 5—OWWA Satellite Office, Naga City Hall Complex, Miranda Avenue, Naga City, with Kaye Villamor as staff; and Region 11—2/F Amiya Bldg., Quiapo Boulevard, Davao City.