President’s Day: August 5, 2013

Tags: ,

At 10:00 a.m., President Benigno S. Aquino III led the oathtaking ceremony at Rizal Hall in Malacañan Palace. The following took their oaths of office:

  1. Undersecretary of Health Janette Garin
  2. Assistant Secretary of Science and Technology Raymundo Liboro
  3. Movie and Television Review Board member, Leah Navarro
  4. Assistant Secretary of Education Tionisito Umali
  5. President and Chief Executive of PhilHealth Alexander Padilla

Also with President Aquino in the event were Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda, Deputy Presidential Spokesperson Abigail Valte, Secretary of Health Enrique Ona, and Assistant Secretary Susan Reyes.

050813_LM1 050813_LM2 050813_RL1 050813_RL2 050813_RL3

Photos by Malacañang Photo Bureau

At 3:00 p.m., President Aquino received Ambassador of Canada to the Philippines His Excellency Christopher Thornley for the Farewell Call and Confernment of the Order of Sikatuna at the Music Room in Malacañan Palace.

Ambassador Thornley was given the Order of Sikatuna rank of Grand Cross. The Order of Sikatuna is the national order of diplomatic merit of the Philippines. It is given to individuals who have diplomatic merit and have displayed exceptional service to the Philippines.


Photo from Malacañang Photo Bureau