[timeline maptype='TERRAIN' src="https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet/pub?key=0Ahk_kgmnMKIudC1QVHJzdEZpbmhKUFh4eHRJQjJ3TEE&output=html"]

[callout align="center" width="900"]
How to use this timeline

  1. There are two fields representing a timeline on the emergence of the Philippine nation.
  2. The upper field highlights a specific event with a date, title, and short description. Some entries have embedded media files. To navigate, click the left or right buttons on the screen or on your keyboard.
  3. The lower field represents a chronological line gauge on which events of significance are marked. To navigate, click individual events and these will appear in more detail in the upper field. A toolbar on the left allows the user to return to the beginning of the timeline. It also includes a zoom-in-zoom-out function.


[callout align="center" width="900"]

Unraveling the revolution (an essay)

For the 114th Anniversary of the Proclamation of Philippine Independence, the Presidential Communications Development and Strategic Planning Office (PCDSPO) has prepared an interactive timeline on key events of the Philippine Revolution—spanning the years 1872 to 1907.
[button  color="white" size="small" link="http://pcdspo.gov.ph/2012/06/11/unraveling-the-revolution/"]Link to Article[/button]


[callout align="center" width="900"]
Speech of President Aquino during the 114th anniversary of the proclamation of Philippine Independence, delivered in Barasoain Church, Malolos, Bulacan on June 12, 2012:Ngayong umaga, ginugunita natin dito sa simbahan ng Barasoain—ang duyan ng ating Saligang Batas—ang ika-isandaan at labing-apat na taon ng proklamasyon ng kalayaan. Dito nagtipon ang mga kinatawan ng iba’t ibang probinsya upang magkasundo kung paano aarugain at payayabungin ang ipinaglaban nilang kalayaan.
[button  color="white" size="small" link="http://www.gov.ph/2012/06/12/speech-of-president-aquino-during-the-anniversary-of-the-proclamation-of-philippine-independence-june-12-2012/"]Link to Article[/button]


Learn more about the evolution of the Philippine Revolution, read our article on its progression by clicking the image below.

Proclamation of Independence*

Philippine independence was formally proclaimed on June 12, 1898 with the reading of the Proclamation of Independence in Kawit, Cavite. The Proclamation was prepared and read by Ambrosio Rianzares Bautista and was signed by 98 delegates, including General Emilio Aguinaldo.

Proclamation of Independence (English), June 12, 1898 ( PDF)
Proclamation of Independence (Spanish), June 12, 1898 ( PDF)
Proclamation of Independence (Tagalog), June 12, 1898 ( PDF)

[callout align="center" width="900"]

Ratification of Philippine Independence by the Municipal Presidents, August 1, 1898*

On August 1, 1898, 190 municipal presidents of different towns from 16 provinces—Manila, Cavite, Laguna, Batangas, Bulacan, Bataan, Infanta, Morong, Tayabas, Pampanga, Pangasinan, Mindoro, Nueva Ecija, Tarlac, La Union and Zambales—ratified the Proclamation of Independence in Bacoor, Cavite. ( PDF)


Decrees by Aguinaldo**

On June 18, 1898 General Aguinaldo issued a decree creating a dictatorial government in order to access the situation in the Philippines and institute peace and order. Five days later, Aguinaldo then issued another decree instituting a Revolutionary government to fight for Independence of the Philippines.

Instituting a Dictatorial government English ( PDF)
Instituting a Dictatorial government Tagalog ( PDF)
Instituting a Revolutionary government English ( PDF)
Instituting a Revolutionary government Tagalog ( PDF)

Malolos Documents*

The first ever Philippine constitution, the Malolos Constitution, created a new government. Along with the creation of the constitution, a congress was formed where President Aguinaldo delivered an opening speech and National Assembly President Pedro Paterno opened session.

Malolos Address of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo (Spanish), September 15, 1898 ( PDF)
Malolos Address of Gen. Emilio Aguinaldo (Tagalog), September 15, 1898 ( PDF)
Malolos Address of Pedro Paterno, September 17, 1898 ( PDF)