Mindanao’s Guinness world record attempt opens online registration

From the Mindanao Development Authority Calls to participate in Mindanao’s attempt to break the Guinness world record for the most number of trees planted in an hour at multiple sites aim to become viral as online registration opens to interested participants across the island-region. The world record attempt, which will happen on September 26, aims to […]

Mindanao tree planting program attempts world record

Mindanawons will try to break the Guinness world record for most trees planted simultaneously at multiple locations on September 26, 2014—a world record-breaking attempt that will mobilize 185,440 people who will give a shot at planting 4,636,000 trees at various sites covering a total area of 9,200 hectares within the island-region.

Academe sector expands inter-EAGA ties through educ exchange programs

Institutional partnerships between the focus areas of the Brunei Darussalam Indonesia Malaysia the Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) continue to expand and diversify with the recently sealed academe collaboration between the Palawan State University (PSU) – Philippines and Jesselton College – Kota Kinabalu.

Mindanao town seals cacao deal with Kennemer Foods International

A production and trading agreement aimed to integrate and scale-up cacao production in Mindanao was sealed here recently between the local government of Marihatag in Surigao del Sur and the Kennemer Foods International (KFI). KFI is a major supplier of US-based Mars chocolate and specializes in growing and trading high-quality agricultural crops including fermented cacao beans.

Mindanao River Basin – Technical Working Group to fast track flood control projects

Members of the Mindanao River Basin-Technical Working Group (MRB-TWG) convened here on Tuesday to review ongoing projects aimed to provide long-term solutions to the flooding within the area and to fast track technical preparations needed to jumpstart the construction and implementation of both structural and non-structural flood control interventions.

East ASEAN Growth Area environment cluster adopts climate change proposal

“The proposal’s main thrust is to lessen the impact of climate change, with the prime goal of preventing environmental disasters within the region,” said Janet Lopoz, executive director of the Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA).